RSS

Transforming yourself for the future library: VALA 2014 bootcamp

10 Feb

Are you ready for the future library? VALA 2014

hub & spoke: justine hyde

What does the library of the future look like? How can librarians prepare themselves for leading the library of the future? These are the questions I asked a group of around 30 attendees at the bootcamp ‘Transforming yourself for the future library’, which I ran at the VALA 2014 conference in Melbourne. My slides for the presentation are below.

Joe Janes’ book Library 2020 was an excellent jumping off point for thinking about how libraries might look and work in the near future. I asked the bootcampers to imagine their library in 2020 by completing the sentence “My library in 2020 will be…”. You can see the diversity and imagination of their responses below. My personal favourite is the first one, so I’ve included the original post-it note. I’m hoping to discover the author.

Slide1Slide3Slide5Slide7Slide8Slide4Slide6Slide9Slide2

After imagining their library in 2020, I put out the challenge to the bootcampers to think about…

View original post 296 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
